Archive for February, 2013
Faculty members are encouraged to create an archive of their course each semester. The archive package is then saved to the faculty member’s computer and it can be re-uploaded to a blank Blackboard course site. The archive package consists of all course content, tests, and tool settings. However, the archive package does not include user content such as grades or course messages. In addition to creating a course package, instructors can also copy a previous Blackboard course site into a blank course site to reuse the course site each semester. The course copy process copies the selected course materials to a destination Blackboard course without requiring users to make a local copy.
When creating a backup copy of the course, instructors can choose to make an export copy or an archive copy of the course.
Export creates a ZIP file in which instructors can specify which content areas and tools they want to include, but does not include user information.
Archive creates a ZIP file that contains all user interactions in addition to course content and tools.
An Export is best for reloading course content from one semester to another while an Archive is best for making periodic backups of your course during the semester.
The export and archive processes create .zip files that can be saved to the faculty member’s computer. To access the contents of the file, the package must be restored to a Blackboard course site. Content is not accessible by unzipping the archive package to the user’s computer.
Over the next few weeks, there will be two noticeable changes to Blackboard:
- Students will no longer be able to access courses that took place during previous semesters. However, instructors can still grant access to individual students for special cases such as finishing an incomplete.
- Courses taught during or before the 2011 Fall semester will be removed from the server. PLEASE REMEMBER TO RETAIN BACKUPS OF YOUR COURSES IN CASE YOU NEED TO ACCESS THEM IN THE FUTURE.
Starting with the 2013 Spring Semester, student access to courses will end approximately 2 weeks after a semester ends. Instructors have the ability to give access back to students as needed for situations such as finishing an incomplete. All course sites on Blackboard will remain accessible to faculty for 1 year + 1 full semester before being archived and removed from our servers. For example, a course offered in Fall Semester 2012 will remain accessible to the instructor(s) for that course until the end of Spring Semester 2014. During this time, students can be given access to a course to finish any incompletes and faculty can easily access past materials to use in current or future courses.
Please note that these changes will affect courses that run on a standard semester schedule. Customized sites will not be affected by this change.
If you have any comments or concerns, please send them to UTLV@utoledo.edu.