UT Online

IMPORTANT Changes to Blackboard Course Site Access and Retention

Over the next few weeks, there will be two noticeable changes to Blackboard:

  1. Students will no longer be able to access courses that took place during previous semesters. However, instructors can still grant access to individual students for special cases such as finishing an incomplete.
  2. Courses taught during or before the 2011 Fall semester will be removed from the server.  PLEASE REMEMBER TO RETAIN BACKUPS OF YOUR COURSES IN CASE YOU NEED TO ACCESS THEM IN THE FUTURE.

Starting with the 2013 Spring Semester, student access to courses will end approximately 2 weeks after a semester ends.  Instructors have the ability to give access back to students as needed for situations such as finishing an incomplete.  All course sites on Blackboard will remain accessible to faculty for 1 year + 1 full semester before being archived and removed from our servers. For example, a course offered in Fall Semester 2012 will remain accessible to the instructor(s) for that course until the end of Spring Semester 2014. During this time, students can be given access to a course to finish any incompletes and faculty can easily access past materials to use in current or future courses.

Please note that these changes will affect courses that run on a standard semester schedule.  Customized sites will not be affected by this change.

If you have any comments or concerns, please send them to UTLV@utoledo.edu.


Leave a Reply