College of Medicine and Life Sciences News

Students inducted into Gold Humanism Honor Society

Nandini Abburi

Nandini Abburi

Megan Mooney

Megan Mooney

On Monday, May 2, third-year medical students were inducted into the Gold Humanism Honor Society.

The society recognizes individuals who are exemplars of humanistic patient care and who can serve as role models, mentors and leaders in medicine.

Inductees were nominated by their classmates and selected by current fourth-year members, along with senior leadership from the college.

“Like most honorary societies, you are not admitted because of what you have done, but because of what you are likely to do,” said Dr. Ronald McGinnis, senior associate dean of student affairs, to the inductees. “You have been nominated to carry the humanistic values of medicine for the rest of your life in medicine.”

Rohit Vyas

Rohit Vyas

Congratulations to the following students:

  • Nandini Abburi
  • Natasha Ahuja
  • Erin Batdorff
  • Karen Chahal
  • Maria Grabnar
  • Hoda Hassan
  • Sura Khuder
  • Christopher Marino
  • Michael McKernan
  • Geoffrey Meyers
  • Megan Mooney
  • Andrew Park
  • Hiten Patel
  • Kristen Schwind
  • Michael Siedow
  • Kathryn Tobin
  • Rohit Vyas
  • Katrina Weimer
  • Emily Yang
Geoffrey Meyers

Geoffrey Meyers

The Honor Society was founded in 2002 — with UT’s chapter being established in 2005 — to promote humanistic values and behaviors. Its goal is to bring together like minded individuals to sustain their own humanism and to inspire and nurture humanism in others.

Learn more about the national society on the Arnold P. Gold Foundation website.

Tags: , , ,

is Web and Digital Media Specialist for the College of Medicine and Life Sciences.
Email this author | All posts by

Leave a Reply